DJ Ricochet x Move In Silence

Image

Recently, I had the opportunity to catch up with the busy and very popular DJ Ricochet to ask him a few questions.  Besides being the “Untouchable Technician”, one of Philly’s hottest DJ’s, and the official DJ for hip hop artist Chill Moody, he’s building a brand and a campaign that is catching on to his fans and followers.  “Move In Silence”, I noticed the campaign not too long ago and I was somewhat inspired by it before completely understanding what it stood for…but after catching up DJ Ricochet, I admire the brand and I’ve noticed that it’s definitely catching on in the city. 

 

Image

(Pictured above, DJ Ricochet’s Move in Silence sweatshirt)

Janets Journee: What inspired you to create the “move in silence” campaign?

DJ Ricochet: The Move in Silence campaign was started in late 2012. The premise of the campaign was to achieve major accomplishments in life without having to boast or brag; essentially to move in silence. I wanted to create and invest in a brand that actually meant something to me; I felt like I was always investing in everyone else and this was my way of investing in myself.

 

JJ: What does it mean to you personally?

DJ: For me personally, it’s somewhat a representation of who I am as a person; outside of d’jing I’m a very reserved. So coming up with the concept of ‘Move in Silence’ was a fairly easy task. But it means everything to me, working hard and remaining humble. Move in Silence that’s what it’s all about.

 

JJ: How effective has it been for your overall brand?

DJ: It’s actually been pretty good. The public is very receptive of it and I’ve found that a lot of people agree with what it stands for; I guess they like humility. As far as the brand, that’s been working out well too. It’s gotten to the point that soon as someone sees the ‘Move in Silence’ logo they immediately think of DJ Ricochet. And that’s the ultimate goal.

 

JJ: How does it tie into your brand as a dj?

DJ: Like i said earlier, I’m very reserved outside of d’jing. And what most people don’t know is that with the exceptions of weddings, I have been promoting, financing, preparing (top to bottom) my own shows since 2011. And I’ve had major success in the city; my latest two accomplishments are (Mikeys 8/11-07/13 ) & (Han Dynasty 07/13 – Present). But all in all I don’t look for any glory for the things I do behind the scenes to make things happen, nor do I feel the need to boast about what’s going on. I’m just doing what makes me happy, but I’m also living out what I promote.

 

JJ: Where do you envision the “move in silence” campaign in the future?

DJ: Good question I just want the brand to continue to be successful and as long as I like it that’s all that really matters to me.

 

JJ: Will you go further then using t-shirts?

DJ: I currently have t-shirts, tanks, and hoodies. By spring 2014 I will also have hats and pajama pants.

It was definitely great catching up with DJ Ricochet, he’s a man with a plan and making progressive moves in Philly.  I look forward to seeing where his brand and career as a DJ takes him in the future, he has accomplished so much with a humble attitude and he’s definitely going farther.  You can follow DJ Ricochet on Instagram and Twitter@djricochet03 for upcoming news on events and to contact him for bookings.

DJ Ricochet’s upcoming events in Philadelphia, PA:1/19/2014- J Allen presents the R&B Collective Up Close & Personal with Suzanne Christine & Friends at Warm Daddy’s

2/7/2014- Who Do You Love More? w/ Chill Moody x Beano x Hank McCoy, Hard Rock Cafe at 8 pm

2/8/2014- Roses & Rose, Han Dynasty, 10pm until 3am (Ladies free until 11pm)

 

 

Leave a Reply

