Silence x Emergency x Dial 911

Recently, I had a situation at home where my daughter wasn’t feeling well and after a long night, I decided to take her to the hospital.  If there’s one thing I do not like, it’s seeing my child in the hospital, no parent wants that for their child.  However, I do thank God for the doctors that help her.  My daughter has reactive airway disease a.k.a. asthma…they say it’s environmental, but I think it’s hereditary as well.  She had issues with her breathing and when the in home nebulizer treatments didn’t seem to be enough anymore, I immediately took my child to be seen.  This isn’t easy, it is very overwhelming for me to see my child on a hospital bed.  With taking her to the hospital, there are the lost hours at work and my income is what supports us….but what it boils down is that money will come and go…but my daughter…she is irreplaceable.  Her life and well being are far more superior than anything going on around me.  She puts a smile on my face everyday!  But still…as a single parent…this all can be too overwhelming to handle alone…my art….is a vision on paper describing my internal thoughts and feelings….

Image

At first I created this by doing a quick sketch and using colored pencil to fill in everything…

Image

Then I wanted to see more blending of the medium so I wet a paintbrush a ran it across the drawing in sections to allow more blending.  On the lips “Emergency Dial 911” is written…the lips are closed because when I see my child suffer, I do cry and wonder why…it hurts me every time we need to make a hospital visit…when this happens I don’t make a big deal out of it…I cry…get myself together and do what needs to be done.  Emergency 911…there was an emergency that needed to addressed and as mom first, I addressed it immediately.

Throughout the hair, you will see different adjectives written…on the left is my reality and on the right is what I’m hoping for my future.

Image

Close up of the lips…I love the way you can see the imprints from where I erased and repositioned the letters.

As you can see there is a lot going on…yeah there was a visit to the hospital…but on a daily basis, there are so many thoughts, feelings, emotions, and facts that I deal with.  What it all comes down is that being a mom is my most important role, because there is a precious and intuitive little life that depends on me…and I don’t plan on letting her down.

Here’s my sketch and the story behind it…as always…thanks for stopping by…

 

2 thoughts on “Silence x Emergency x Dial 911”

  1. Very moving and honest article. May I encourage you, if you haven’t yet already, to create a coloring book or picture book discussing the seriousness of asthma awareness. Perfect for schools, day cares, doctor offices, hospitals, or interactive websites. Just a thought. Stay strong. Peace and health!

Leave a Reply

