But to give Thanks….

Image

(Me in striped sweater, and my cousin Jennifer in solid black)

 

My cousin and I are so different, yet so much alike.  We’re only two years apart and when I was born, we were like “Thelma & Louise”, wherever you saw Jennifer, you saw Janet too.  She always looked out for me and schooled me.  We had plenty of sleepovers and loved to draw cartoon characters together.  When the rubber hit the road, my cousin has had my back through thick and thin!  I love her dearly for that.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that we’ve had a perfect relationship, we’ve had our ups and downs, and we’ve overcome them.  We know that family is important and we’re here to look out for another.

How funny is it that we are both loving mothers to beautiful daughters and work!  We’re both college graduates, hey we come from a family full of college graduates and we’re raising our daughters to keep the legacy going and set the bar even higher!

 

Today, we had our annual family reunion and it was truly a beautiful event.  My family did a spectacular job planning this big event!  There was plenty of home made food, deserts, beverages/ drinks, music, dancing, vending from family businesses, and catching up to do!  I wasn’t able to make it to the event last year, but I am so glad that I made it this year!  I truly had a great time and I encourage you all to spend time with your family.

 

Thanksgiving is right around the corner, so if you have family strife, find a way to make amends quickly.  There is no point to hold onto what happened, rather forgive quickly and move. No one is perfect, but I’ve learned that blood is thicker than water.  For a long time I was wrapped up into other organizations and I quickly learned that the people associated with it did not have my back nor my best interests at heart.  But when the rubber hit the road, my family was there to offer their support and love during my painful transition.  The transition was painful, but my present is great and my future is looking even greater with the help of God!

 

Some of us may not have family, but we do have loved ones who are able to be in the place of family in their absence.  During this time of thanks, remember to give God thanks for your family and all the blessings you have received throughout the year.  I know we like to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, eat lots n lots of yummy food, talk, and shop….but lets take a moment this year to truly give thanks for all that we have.

 

I am beyond thankful to God for getting me through this year and for the love and support of my wonderful, growing, educated, intelligent, and creative family!

 

As always…thanks for stopping by 🙂

One thought on “But to give Thanks….”

Leave a Reply

